“You learn how …

“You learn how to be a gracious winner and an outstanding loser.” –Joe Namath

I came across this quote today and it stuck out to me, particularly because of some recent changes in my life. I was promoted to a supervisor position at the summer job I’ve held since I was fifteen, and it was like a green light in terrible traffic. Since I have been home, I’ve spent wonderful time with my family and friends, but I have not indulged in the usual hobbies I love, such as Tae Kwon Do, reading, beading, and writing. I was in a rut where my days consisted of Netflix and Candy Crush Saga. In the few days since I found out, I have had more motivation than I had the entire month of May. It was so refreshing to feel like I had a purpose, like I wanted to do something with myself. And so for that, I am so, so grateful. Yet, I must remain humble, for that would not be true to myself to be overindulgent about the position, nor would it be good to do at all. Overall, I think this is a great quote for the day, and really, for my entire semester. It is important for all of us to remember to be gracious, humble, and understanding. What quotes have you found recently that have struck a chord?

Leave a Reply

